Looking back as I look forward

DSCN5967 (1)

Sunset on Tamarindo in Costa Rica.

Where did you go in 2016?

Where will you go in 2017?

Prompted by Suvi of Destination: Everywhere (one of my favorite travel blogs), I thought I’d look back at the year’s destinations. Suvi was surprised that some of her favorite posts were overlooked. I had the same problem.

With all the hype over Star Wars (RIP General Organa) I had expected my visit to Lucasfilms’ Letterman Digital Studios in San Francisco to attract attention. It didn’t dim the glow on my memories of our visit there one little bit.

dscn6351

Yoda welcomes visitors to Letterman Digital Studios in San Francisco

Everybody was talking about Ford’s Garage, a restaurant chain around Fort Myers, Florida. I write Tipsy Tourist columns that get plenty of traffic. This one didn’t. I still found the mix of good pub food and garage atmosphere a lot of fun.

Tamarindo in Costa Rica offered palm trees, iguanas, shell-strew beaches, lots of dangerous rocks under the surf and dazzling sunsets. I’ll never forget it.

NYE_Cinghiale

Balloons and streamers on the ceiling of Cinghiale Enoteca in Baltimore’s Harbor East as diners await the ringing in of the new year.

My travels in 2016 took me two two continents and eleven states.

In 2017, I already have plans for three trips to Charleston, San Antonio and San Francisco. A couple of other places are in the works — as well as my weekly sojourns in my own backyard.

I’m hoping for another year of new sights, new tastes, new ideas. Happy new year to you! And keep your suitcase handy.

Mary

5 responses to “Looking back as I look forward

Comments are closed.